3.2 C
Saturday, November 27, 2021

Belgium 19-0 Armenia Women: Hosts ease to huge win

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Belgium's comprehensive victory fell just short of the record wins in World Cup qualifying
Belgium’s comprehensive victory fell just short of the record wins in World Cup qualifying

Belgium hammered Armenia 19-0 on a night that featured goals flying in across women’s World Cup qualifying.

Captain Tessa Wullaert, who spent two seasons at Manchester City, scored five for the hosts, who are third in Group F after four games.

Defender Amber Tysiak and midfielder Tine De Caigny both netted hat-tricks, with Janice Cayman, Hannah Eurlings and Jarne Teulings scoring twice in Leuven.

Goals for Justine Vanhaevermaet and Sarah Wijnants completed the rout.

Belgium’s victory was not quite a record winning margin, though. There are four known instances of teams winning 21-0 in women’s internationals – Japan thrashed Guam, Canada thumped Puerto Rico, New Zealand hammered Samoa and Australia demolished Western Samoa by that scoreline, all in the 1990s.

Meanwhile, Northern Ireland won 11-0 away against North Macedonia as Simone Magill scored four and Rachel Furness grabbed a hat-trick.

Spain were also among the goals, beating Faroe Islands 12-0 with Esther Gonzalez scoring four of those.



Formation 4-3-3

  • 21Evrard
  • 23VangheluweSubstituted forOnziaat 73′minutes
  • 4Tysiak
  • 18De NeveSubstituted forDelooseat 62′minutes
  • 2PhiltjensSubstituted forMertensat 62′minutes
  • 13EurlingsBooked at 57minsSubstituted forVanmechelenat 73′minutes
  • 10Vanhaevermaet
  • 6De CaignySubstituted forTeulingsat 45′minutes
  • 11Cayman
  • 9Wullaert
  • 5Wijnants


  • 1Odeurs
  • 3Blom
  • 7Mertens
  • 8Onzia
  • 12Lemey
  • 14Vanmechelen
  • 15Teulings
  • 17Iliano
  • 19Vande Velde
  • 22Deloose

Armenia Women

Formation 4-1-4-1

  • 1Andriasyan
  • 5KarapetyanBooked at 24mins
  • 17Yeghyan
  • 3Ghazaryan
  • 22Ghukasyan
  • 4SakhinovaSubstituted forBedoyanat 82′minutes
  • 7AvesyanSubstituted forAsatryanat 75′minutes
  • 10OsipyanSubstituted forJebejyanat 45′minutes
  • 6Der-MegerdichianSubstituted forAghababianat 45′minutes
  • 20DallakyanSubstituted forYeghyanat 88′minutes
  • 8Artin


  • 2Jebejyan
  • 9Bedoyan
  • 11Ghazaryan
  • 12Harutyunyan
  • 13Khalatyan
  • 14Asatryan
  • 15Galstyan
  • 18Asatryan
  • 19Yeghyan
  • 21Karakhanyan
  • 23Aghababian

Live Text

Source link

- Advertisement -
Latest news
- Advertisement -
Related news
- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here